Song Appreciation – “The Greatest Showman – A Million Dreams”

greatest-show_mini.jpgSong Appreciation – “The Greatest Showman – A Million Dreams”
Sung by – Artists: Hugh Jackman, Ziv Zaifman, Michelle Williams
Movie – The Greatest Showman
_________________________
“The Greatest Showman – A Million Dreams” – Lyrics

I close my eyes and I can see
The world that’s waiting up for me
That I call my own
Through the dark, through the door
Through where no one’s been before
But it feels like home

They can say, they can say it all sounds crazy
They can say, they can say I’ve lost my mind
I don’t care, I don’t care, so call me crazy
We can live in a world that we design

‘Cause every night I lie in bed
The brightest colors fill my head
A million dreams are keeping me awake
I think of what the world could be
A vision of the one I see
A million dreams is all it’s gonna take
A million dreams for the world we’re gonna make

There’s a house we can build
Every room inside is filled
With things from far away
The special things I compile
Each one there to make you smile
On a rainy day

They can say, they can say it all sounds crazy
They can say, they can say we’ve lost our minds
I don’t care, I don’t care if they call us crazy
Runaway to a world that we design

Every night I lie in bed
The brightest colors fill my head
A million dreams are keeping me awake
I think of what the world could be
A vision of the one I see
A million dreams is all it’s gonna take
A million dreams for the world we’re gonna make

However big, however small
Let me be part of it all
Share your dreams with me
You may be right, you may be wrong
But say that you’ll bring me along
To the world you see
To the world I close my eyes to see
I close my eyes to see

Every night I lie in bed
The brightest colors fill my head
A million dreams are keeping me awake
A million dreams, a million dreams
I think of what the world could be
A vision of the one I see
A million dreams is all it’s gonna take
A million dreams for the world we’re gonna make

For the world we’re gonna make

Video Clip Url – https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pSQk-4fddDI


greatest-showman
Song Appreciation – Questions

1. What does the title of the song tell you it is about?

The song title is a “A Million Dreams” – what it says to me is that someone has spent some time dreaming for sometime or even a million times over for the life or the being that they want for themselves.


2. Read or listen to the song quietly. What is happening?

When I listen to the song “A Million Dreams”… I hear the love and passion of uncharted territory… the long of a love that has lived its presence in million long dreams of a heart longing touch.

I hear the youth of a new love showing its maturity in the yearn for the unknown hold that love installs in the hearts of every single person or every single soul that has ever love anyone in a far greater capacity then he or she has ever loved another.

A Million Dreams is a vivid song that flutters colours and euphoria in the love that is seen in those million dreams… sing breath, belief and reality into a world that is yearning to be real.


3. What is your first impression of the song? My impression of the “A Million Dreams” is the very feeling that reminds me of the love that I felt when My Dreams of loving my husband in the flesh and not in the dreams and wants that I had for him.

Our wedding song by Savage Garden – I Knew I Loved You talks about my exact feeling and connection that I had for some years before Steve and I actually became one.

There’s just no rhyme or reason
Only the sense of completion
And in your eyes, I see
The missing pieces I’m searching for
I think I’ve found my way home
I know that it might sound
More than a little crazy
But I believe

I knew I loved you before I met you
I think I dreamed you into life
I knew I loved you before I met you
I have been waiting all my life

I understand the euphoria that the song A Million Dreams
Conveys…

A thousand angels dance around you
I am complete now that I’ve found you
Is how my story started… my story & its reality, beautiful colours fade away the world and the people around you when you find reality in the dreams that colour the world of love that fills the world and hearts of two finding love for the very first time.


4. Now read the song a second time. Notice how it is punctuated. Do any images
stand out to you?

The image that comes to me is a prom dance night, the lSt dance of the evening where nothing exists but the music and the lights flickering the colours of the falling glitter and confetti into the euphoria that exists when two hearts find each other.


5. Is there a rhyming pattern? What is it? Is there a noticeable rhythm to the words?

The rhythm that tge song A Million dreams is of an out of breath person in love talking quickly so that they can talk of the love that has ones heart in it grip…

Patterns painted in coloured huge flashing light hitting the skys…

Deeply felt is love in yearning that it has a noticeable heart beat that beating fast in the story the song A Million Dreams sings.


6. Is there an obvious meaning to the song?

Yes absolutely there is an obvious meaning to A Million Dreams… and sing so beautifully of its expectations of a love that is dreamed of over and over again, soon to be live in reality that will soon breathe life into its world & words.


7. Is there an implied meaning?

The implied meaning is known “A Million Dreams” all of the same story.. the deep and burning yearn for the vivid love that ones heart dreams of; over and over again.


Song Facts
Reference – https://www.songfacts.com/facts/ziv-zaifman/a-million-dreams

Written by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul for The Greatest Showman soundtrack, “A Million Dreams” is sung by the young P. T. Barnum (Ziv Zaifman) to his future wife Charity Hallett (Michelle Williams). He tells her of his dreams for the future and explains his confidence that if they work hard for it, they will come true.

“We wanted to show a couple of things. One, that this flame of a dreamer that is Barnum always has a vision. He always wanted life to be larger and colorful than it was. We wanted to show that’s the kind of thing that ran through the character from when he was a kid to being an adult.

But for the story, we thought it would also be interesting and ironic that he expresses this dream as a kid and when we meet Hugh Jackman as an adult now. He still has that same dream and he still hasn’t found that thing. He still hasn’t built the house, so to speak. He hasn’t been good on the promise he makes to himself and Charity. So that dream is kept alive.”

This was the first tune that Pasek and Paul wrote for The Greatest Showman and it served as their audition for The Greatest Showman. However, nothing was assured. “Every song in the movie we wrote in a competitive way, because we were never hired as the songwriters for the movie,” Pasek told Billboard. “We had to submit a song for each song moment.”


More Facts

Reference – https://www.songmeaningsandfacts.com/a-million-dreams-by-ziv-zaifman-featuring-michelle-ingrid-hugh-jackman/

PRE-CHORUS
The people around him think he is losing his mind for dreaming of such. Yet despite this opposition he is committed to achieving a reality based on his fantasy. Indeed he can’t sleep at night due to nagging yet wonderful imaginings of a reality he feels he and his fellow believers are able to create.

VERSE 2
The second verse then gets more specific in identifying that the song is indeed about a particular person. As such we get a gander of what it is he is actually conceptualizing, which are exotic items that bring joy to peoples’ lives, even on depressing days. Likewise the business P. T. Barnum was engaged in was circuses.

CHORUS
The subject of the song then switches from a young P. T. Barnum into his adult form. Yet once again he is expressing the same sentiments as in the pre-chorus. In other words, the adult P. T. Barnum possesses the same colorful aspirations that he had as a youth.

BRIDGE
During the bridge, P. T. Barnum’s wife, Charity, joins him in singing. She expresses that she shares his vision and is there to support him throughout his journey to make it come true. He relays the same sentiment to her.

OUTRO
The song concludes on the note that P.T. and Charity are indeed actively engaged in creating “the world” that they both dream of.


Quick Facts about “A Million Dreams”

This song was performed by actors Ziv Zaifman, Hugh Jackman and Michelle Williams. These stars, including Jackman, actually sang this song.

Songwriters Justin Paul, Joseph Trapanese and Alex Lacamoire are credited with composing this track.
“A Million Dreams” was produced by Benj Pasek and all three of the song’s writers.

The song appears on the soundtrack album to The Greatest Showman. That album is titled The Greatest Showman: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. It was released on December 8, 2017.


My Interpretation Of “A Million Dreams”

Through the doors of the world we built
I walk on in
I scan the room for the familiar smells
That beckon me to your side

All day long I have day dreamed of holding you
Caressing passion burning bright
Where I in my mind I have kissed you a thousand times

Words are meaningless b445ed0913dbd8b55a7ce48c9c018504-hidden-doors-surrealism-art.jpg

Silence encircles
No words are needed in exchange

Slow motions
Mirror the two of us
Wrapped up in the euphoria
Of the lost hours where our eyes didn’t cross
Nothing better than falling into the abyss
Of our hearts in tune

“I close my eyes and I can see a world that has spent it’s hours waiting for me”
There I hug you
Standing tall in a stance
Where my heart lights up the sky

I’m not crazy
And I haven’t lost my mind
You are the earth my footsteps walk on for
Cradled heart
Two minds as one
There is nothing more wanting
In my beating heart
Than the love that wraps us in its warmth

You are the vision
That I once used to dream
Now your standing
Heart to heart
Arms in grip
Nothing could ever top this feeling
For I have found my reality
The million dreams that I used to dream

Those dreams of you
Were once so vivid
Now I feel your breath breathing with mine
Cradled in arms
And hearts deeply entwined
You are my world
And my only one.

You are the million dreams
I no longer dream
For you are the unfolding of was once just a dream.

By Tanya Kelly


I love this song that has me writing about it in my today’s writings… it takes me right back to the day when my hubby Steve became real flesh and blood, the touch and feel of a person that I had met some 3 years on three separate before.

As written on May 19th, 2018 – What Words Would I Have Spoken To You On Our Wedding Day –

istockphoto-500117975-612x612.jpgYou Are My Best Friend,
My Sense Of Completion
The Missing Pieces That I Was Searching For
We Both Complete
Now That We Are One.

& again talked about my euphoria of love for my hubby Steve in my writing dated:- October 27th, 2000 – Here’s To Our 18th Wedding Anniversary October, Saturday 28th, 2000 where I wrote the following:-

Through the sands of time, Many days went by But I never let go of your picture in my mind. I promised myself that I would someday find you Reconnect with you And make you mine.

You’ve always been hidden Far back in my subconscious But every now and then There would be a whispered word Nudging me telling me that you are never far That someday soon; You will materialise and become forever mine.

There was a time in those years Where I gained a glimpse of you But the mesmeric fields of love Never aligned us on the same path.

Your name was heard In the traps of other peoples words… And just as I accepted That our love may never to be; Like a genie in the wind, You appeared in the flesh And there you were in front of me.

A stolen kiss from a stranger in person But in my dreams, this certainly wasn’t our first. Then it came That you become mine Loving you always And far more than one lifetime should allow.

Written By
Tanya Kelly
2018


Signed
Author. Tanya Kelly
365daysomethings.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Song Appreciation – “The Greatest Showman – A Million Dreams”

Leave a comment