Day #137 “Why I Write Verse”

Today in my day-to-day research and daily writing endeavours I came across a small verse  that I would live to share with you.

This verse gives me the reasons and the validity to why I sit here everyday and write as whywrite2.jpg
much and as often as I do.

Maybe it won’t be famous.
Maybe it won’t be a movie,
but that is not why I started it
and that’s not why I’ll finish.

Author. Ryan Reudell
Legendary Writing

This about verse is the very reason behind my writing; I don’t seek fame or fortune and I don’t seek a box office hit, my only goal for my writings is for my heart, mind & soul to find peace in every word they write.

I personally write everyday to leave a legacy and some documented evidence of my life and of the lives of those who paved their way before me… a memoir, an autobiography, a collection of unedited thoughts… a well researched family tree or a box full of priceless documents that show who our ancestors once were.

” When She Came To Write Her Story; She Would Wonder When The Books & The Words Started To Mean Not Just Something, But Everything.
~ Markus Zusak ~ The Book Thief  ~

I can tell you that my writings have always meant the world to me, but as I have gotten a little older, mainly since my children have come to need less and less of the every moment of my everyday… I have found my voice in my written words and those words have become the everything that I am, Someday’s I spend hours writing and as of late I have begun to chronicle the stories that my Family future generations will some day lean upon for historical reference and unspoken reference… For me personally I know that I would be lost if I couldn’t write… if my words failed to fill my pages; I would certainly cease to exist… so whilst my mind is sharp and willing to bare the long hours of writing I will sit and write until there are no more words to be written.

I don’t write for other people, but love it when I read what someone has written about my
whyiwrite.jpgdeep and sometimes mindless written thoughts, I write for myself and for the stories that need to be told… the reminders of our history… reminders and keepsakes for the generations of youngsters that will follow in mine and my ancestors well walked path.

 I write because it make me feel alive in the every word that I write… & when I have a moment of tearyness of stories a long time forgiven – but begging to be told, I will look upon the scripted words laying written on my page and think of them as a moment in clarification and as a moment in spent unburdening my soul.

For those who think my writing is frivolous (not having any serious purpose or value), I say this… To you my writing hours maybe be torturous and tedious and those hours tapping away on my keyboard or scribbling in my note filled books may seem to be a waste of time…. Call & see my written and writing adventures however you may see them, but I will serve out my years; chronicling to my day’s end.

Maya Angelou says all that needs to be said for why it is that I and others write… ” The Idea is to write so that people hear it and it slides through the brain and goes straight to the heart.”
~ Maya Angelou ~

A story that impacts on another person life or reading heart of another person is a story worth its reading time… even the simplest of written words can and will have an impact on someone’s life.

“There is something about words. In expert hands, manipulated deftly, they take you prisoner. Wind themselves around your limbs like spider silk, and when you are so enthralled you cannot move, they pierce your skin, enter your blood, numb your thoughts. Inside you they work their magic.”
~ Diane Setterfield ~

Signed
Author. Tanya Kelly
365daysomethings.wordpress.com

1 thought on “Day #137 “Why I Write Verse”

Leave a comment