Day #115 – “Reach Out & Touch Somebody’s Hand”

img_3588So this morning started off in the usual way… school run, catch up with fellow writing buddy’s touch base with a few close friends, answer my phone’s messages… check email (scrap the thought of reading them all, just filter through & move on)…

As I sifted through the social media newspaper I saw a post from an “Anonymous Poster” who was seeking a connection, a hand of friendship, someone to talk to… someone to hear what she or he had to say.

“Anonymous Poster” was struggling with a recent relationship break down & felt as though they were failing to keep the down trodden cycle of sadness from overwhelming them.

I didn’t go into my initial reply to “Anonymous Poster” as a counsellor… I went in as a concerned person who thought that due to the many responses that “Anonymous Poster” already had to his/her posted message would simply wade past my short and sweet response that simply said in reply to all his other messages offering support Happy to talk also“….

So I went on with my morning and decided to turn my attention to my mass of email messages that was certainly not on the top of my to do list, but never-the-less I knew that they had to be looked at… so why put it off I thought.

Glancing at my phone’s social media’s social networking notifications & messages I saw that there was a message from “Anonymous Poster”.. a simple message of “Hi” was written on my screen… we began to small talk and I ask how they were…  “Anonymous Poster” told me of his/her struggle (which I will not repeat here) and we began to talk openly back and forth.

I didn’t want to go into this conversation as a counsellor or even find myself in a img_3528-e1551191999401.jpgcounselling role… so I informed  “Anonymous Poster” that I was indeed a counsellor. I offered  “Anonymous Poster” other avenue of gaining support and even offered he/she a counsellor who I thought would be in a far better position to help… but the reply was “I’m 100% happy and comfortable with you. Which is kind of weird cause i have never been able to talk about this stuff comfortably before” and so we went on chatting on and off through out days work loads.


“Anonymous Poster” may have thought that they were the ones finding some clarity through the clouds of his/her struggles…

But what made todays stretched out hand moment a beautiful moment was the replies that I received late tonight in my social media’s inbox. What was written was this:-

“I read all of the comments and yours stood out I didn’t even know until after I had been talking to you for a while and actually looked at you’re profile that you were a counsellor or anything about you. Just that your comment stood out and something told me too reach out to you.

I really mean it something just told me to reach out to you and not in a whisper it screamed at me. I didn’t even want a counsellor just an ear and wow you have given me both and I hope the start of a lasting friendship.

We are what we are, our hearts lead us to our calling and our gifts, our job is to share them with the world this is, I believe the meaning of life.

I am glad that I reached out and found you.”

“Anonymous Poster”


Today I found that a simple moment taken out of my day – stretching out my hand to speak with someone who feels that they are failing themselves, his/her life & the people around them was such a rewarding experience when they in turn take a moment to say thank you for your time, that they are now finding his/her way and feeling better about what is scaring them in this his or her moment of time.

I took the chance today to help someone through a rock path in his/her life and day…. & what I saw was a hand of gratitude and a connection with an  “Anonymous Poster” who just needed a place to blow off steam…

 “Anonymous Poster” may have found it important to show his/her gratitude for the ear that I gave them today, but I also think that it is important to respond with my thanks to him/her for finding the strength to do what many people have trouble doing “asking for help, seeking help, and admitting that they are weighed down and struggling to unravel his/her jumble mess; whilst trying not to fall apart at the same time.


How can I finish up today’s blog post without dedicating a moment to
“Anonymous img_3571Poster”. Through the song “Reach Out & Touch Somebody’s Hand – By Diana Ross (1970)… I share with you the lyrics of her heart warming words… the words that sung to me this morning when I saw your message appear on my computer’s screen. I will not put a name to you

for “Anonymous Poster”  I know that you know who you are… please find sometime to listen to this dedication that I send to you… not anonymously instead straight to you.”

Click here to view “Diana Ross’s – Reach Out & Touch Somebody’s Hand” video clip and heart warming words.
img_3522Reach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you can
Reach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you can

Take a little time out of your busy day
To give encouragement
To someone who’s lost the way
(Just try)
Or would I be talking to a stone
If I asked you
To share a problem that’s not your own
We can change things if we start giving
Why don’t you
Reach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you canReach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you can
If you see an old friend on the street
And he’s down
Remember his shoes could fit your feet
(Just try)
Try a little kindness you’ll see
It’s something that comes very naturally
We can change things if we start giving
Why don’t you
Reach out and touch
Why don’t you (Why don’t you)
Reach out and touch somebody’s hand
Reach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you canReach out and touch
Somebody’s hand
Make this world a better place
If you can

Before you signed off from the beautiful message of gratitude that you sent to my social media’s inbox you sent me the following message:-

“thank you for the love and support that you (a complete stranger) has shown for someone in crisis. I only hope that i will be strong enough to do that for someone else one day”  to which I replied with “You will remember this and you will return the favour… maybe not today… but you will see yourself being someone else’s strength in their troubled day…”

“Anonymous Poster”

I have no doubt “Anonymous Poster” that you will come through your rough patch, you will find the strength to pick yourself up and carry on with the life that you will sew for yourself  & no matter what direction your life takes from this day forward, it will be the life that you had envisioned, it will be the life you would have built through the struggles and rubble of your yesterdays life.”


Your posted today the following pictured quote that a friend in support of you sent to you earlier today.

“It’s Your Time, This Is Your Story”

” Know that wherever you are in your life right now is both temporary, and exactly where you are supposed to be. You have arrived at this moment to learn what you must learn, so that you can become the person you need to be to create the life you truly want. Even when life is difficult and challenging – especially when life is difficult or challenging – the present is always an opportunity for us to learn, grow and become better than we have ever been before – Author Unknown”

“Wise words to live and learn from “Anonymous Poster” the best that anyone can ask of you and you of yourself is to simply get up each day and put your best foot forward… working each day to be a better person than you were yesterday.”


A final thought for you before I go.

“Forgiving someone for what they have done is not a sign of weakness, its a statement telling them they do not control your emotions and you will not stay stuck in your past – Written  By Steve Aitchison”


“All the best to you “Anonymous Poster”

Signed
Author. Tanya Kelly
365daysomethings.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Day #115 – “Reach Out & Touch Somebody’s Hand”

Leave a comment